Sequence diagram fragment

Please use this forum for open discussions about Bouml.
Merci d'utiliser ce forum pour des discussions ouvertes à propos de Bouml.

Sequence diagram fragment

Postby laipu » Mon 24 Sep 2018 16:25

Hi, All:

I evaluated several UML open source tools and found out bouml is one of the best!

I am using version 7.7.1 and having problems with sequence diagram fragment feature (alt, opt, loop etc).

When I add a fragment in the sequence diagram, I cannot add any other elements within the fragment. An "illegal" error dialog pops up. I have to add the elements first and then add the fragment. But then the elements within the fragment cannot selected/edited.

Did I miss something?

Thanks.
laipu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2018 19:55

Re: Sequence diagram fragment

Postby Bruno Pagès » Mon 24 Sep 2018 16:38

Hi,

When you add the fragment it is placed on the top (if you change its color this will be very visible), so it gets all the events, event if it is transparent.

So just do a right mouse click on it and choose "go down" or "lower" to change its z-position.

This is a general behavior, not a special case concerning the fragment nor the sequence diagram.

Regards
ImageAuthor of Bouml
Bruno Pagès
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 09:23
Location: France

Re: Sequence diagram fragment

Postby laipu » Mon 24 Sep 2018 16:48

It works, thanks!

It is possible to add sequence numbers to the diagram?
laipu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2018 19:55

Re: Sequence diagram fragment

Postby Bruno Pagès » Mon 24 Sep 2018 17:10

the only way is to put this number in the message, but this means you only use "explicit" message (not an operation whose name is automatically updated if the operation is renamed) and you have to renumber old messages if you add a message not being the last one :?

the automatic numbering only exist into the communication diagram
ImageAuthor of Bouml
Bruno Pagès
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 09:23
Location: France

Re: Sequence diagram fragment

Postby laipu » Mon 24 Sep 2018 18:26

Is there a plan to add the auto numbering feature to the sequence diagrams?
laipu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 19 Sep 2018 19:55

Re: Sequence diagram fragment

Postby Bruno Pagès » Mon 24 Sep 2018 18:53

No, and this is not in the norm.

Referring chapter Interaction :
On Communication Diagrams, the Messages are decorated by a small arrow in the direction of the Message close to
the Message name and sequence number along the line between the lifelines

There is no sequence number in sequence diagram.
ImageAuthor of Bouml
Bruno Pagès
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon 20 Feb 2012 09:23
Location: France


Return to Open discussions / Discussions ouvertes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron